Authority Board

Our Board

The Authority acts through a board of five members, one of whom is elected chairman by the other members. Two members are appointed by the Governor of Kansas for four-year terms, two members serve by reason of their legislative positions - one is Chairman of the Kansas Senate Committee on Transportation and the other is a member of the House Transportation Committee, appointed by the Speaker of the House. The fifth member is the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation. The latter three serve as members of the Authority for the duration of their state terms. On July 1, 2013, in accordance with HB 2234, the KDOT Secretary also became the Turnpike's Director.

David Lindstrom

David Lindstrom was appointed to the Kansas Turnpike Authority board by Gov. Sam Brownback in May 2013 and was elected Chairman of the Authority in March 2016. Mr. Lindstrom is a Kansas City-area businessman and former Johnson County Commissioner and Kansas City Chiefs defensive end. He serves with numerous organizations in the Kansas City area and throughout the state, a few which include the Kansas Leadership Center, Kansas Foundation for Excellence in Education, Shawnee Mission Medical Center Foundation, the Greater Kansas City Sports Commission and is a Johnson County Community College Trustee. He and his wife Mary have two daughters.

Rep. Mark Hutton

Rep. Mark Hutton was appointed to the Kansas Turnpike Authority Board by Gov. Sam Brownback in July 2012 for a four-year term and served as Chairman from May 2013 to March 2016. He is CEO of Hutton Construction Corp. and is a lifelong Kansan. He serves on numerous construction industry boards, including the Board of Directors of the Associated General Contractors of Kansas, Kansas State University College of Engineering Advisory Board and the Kansas Construction Education Foundation. Hutton and his wife, Mary, live in Wichita and have two sons and six grandchildren.

Sen. Mike Petersen

Senator Mike Petersen was appointed Chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee following the retirement of Senator Dwayne Umbarger from the Legislature.  He was first elected to the Legislature in 2004. He is an industrial electrician in Wichita, where he resides with his wife Shelby, when not in Topeka.

Rep. Richard J. Proehl

Representative Richard J. Proehl was appointed Chairman of the House Transportation Committee following the retirement of Representative Gary K. Hayzlett from the Legislature. He has served in the Legislature since 2005. He is a banker in Parsons, and he and his wife, Linda, have two children and five grandchildren.

Mike King

Mike King has served as Kansas Transportation Secretary since March 2012.  Secretary King is a former McPherson business owner serving the oil/gas/industrial markets in Kansas and adjoining states. His duties expanded in July 2013 when he also became Director of the Kansas Turnpike Authority in accordance with HB 2234.  As KTA Director, his goals are to grow ridership, improve customer service and facilitate regional electronic tolling interoperability. In August 2014, Secretary King was elected to a one-year term as president of the Mid-America Association of State Transportation Officials. He and his wife Peggy are from Hesston and have four children.



Kansas Turnpike Authority


236 miles from Kansas City, Kansas, to the Oklahoma border south of Wichita

Service Areas

Six: near Lawrence, Topeka, Emporia, Matfield Green, Towanda and Belle Plaine

Number of Interchanges

Started with 14 and currently have 22

Traffic (2012)

35,596,150 vehicles

Net Toll Revenue (2012)

$87.5 million

Legislation passed

April 7, 1953

Ground Breaking

December 31, 1954

Opened to Traffic

October 25, 1956

Avg Passenger Trip

38 miles

Avg Commercial Trip

63 miles