Authority Board

The Authority acts through a board of five members, one of whom is elected chairman by the other members. Two members are appointed by the Governor of Kansas for four-year terms, two members serve by reason of their legislative positions— one is Chairman of the Kansas Senate Committee on Transportation and the other is a member of the House Transportation Committee, appointed by the Speaker of the House. The fifth member is the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation. The latter three serve as members of the Authority for the duration of their state terms. On July 1, 2013, in accordance with HB 2234, the KDOT Secretary also became the Turnpike's Director. The board meets monthly and consults with the CEO in approving major contracts, policies and approving the annual budget.

  • David Lindstrom

    David Lindstrom was appointed to the Kansas Turnpike Authority board by Gov. Sam Brownback in May 2013 and was elected Chairman of the Authority in March 2016. Mr. Lindstrom is a Kansas City-area businessman and former Johnson County Commissioner and Kansas City Chiefs defensive end. He serves with numerous organizations in the Kansas City area and throughout the state, a few which include the Kansas Leadership Center, Kansas Foundation for Excellence in Education, Shawnee Mission Medical Center Foundation, the Greater Kansas City Sports Commission and is a Johnson County Community College Trustee. He and his wife Mary have two daughters.

  • Sen. Mike Petersen

    Senator Mike Petersen was appointed Chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee following the retirement of Senator Dwayne Umbarger from the Legislature.  He was first elected to the Legislature in 2004. He is an industrial electrician in Wichita, where he resides with his wife Shelby when not in Topeka.

  • Rep. Richard J. Proehl

    Representative Richard J. Proehl was appointed Chairman of the House Transportation Committee following the retirement of Representative Gary K. Hayzlett from the Legislature. He has served in the Legislature since 2005. He is a banker in Parsons, and he and his wife Linda have two children and five grandchildren.

  • Richard Carlson

    Richard Carlson is the Secretary of Transportation and Director of the Kansas Turnpike. The St. Mary’s native has a rich history of legislative experience, having served in the Kansas House of Representatives for 10 years and prior to that as a Pottawatomie County Commissioner for 12 years. An economics and business graduate of Kansas State University, his background includes real estate, banking, as well as franchise development and investment. He and his wife Cheryl live on a ranch near St. Marys and have two children and six grandchildren.

  • Sen. Ty Masterson

    Sen. Ty Masterson was appointed to the Kansas Turnpike Authority Board by Gov. Sam Brownback for a term expiring at the end of June 2020. Sen. Masterson is a small business owner, working as a developer/contractor, and has served in the legislature since 2005. He is a life-long resident of Butler county, currently residing in Andover with his wife Marlo and their six children.

eNewsletter Signup

Enter your info below.

Thanks. Please confirm.

Thank you for signing up for our eNewsletter. An email has been sent to you to confirm your subscription. Please go there and click the link in that email to confirm your subscription.

Subscription confirmed.

Thank you for signing up for our eNewsletter.

Continue to our Website