Our Team

The Kansas Turnpike Authority is led by KTA’s Chief Executive Officer, Steve Hewitt and a 9-member leadership team. The organization employs nearly 450 people who are charged with maintaining, preserving and redesigning the 236-mile roadway and improving its function as a vital corridor to move people and goods in Kansas. The commitment to safety is realized through a partnership with the Kansas Highway Patrol Troop G, assigned specifically to the Turnpike.

  • Steve Hewitt

    Steve Hewitt is the Turnpike’s Chief Executive Officer. He works closely with an executive staff, is responsible for the KTA’s daily operations and represents the Turnpike in transportation and tolling industry. Prior to joining the KTA in 2014, he held executive level public administrative positions in multiple municipalities.

  • Eric J. Becker

    Eric Becker serves as Director of Roadway Operations where he leads both the Maintenance and Tolling Departments, directing roadway maintenance and cash toll collection. He also works closely with the Engineering Department to help maintain the integrity of the pavement and structures that make up the Kansas Turnpike.

  • Rachel Bell

    In her role as Director of Business Services and Customer Relations, Rachel Bell leads KTA’s business and customer partnership strategies, oversees K-TAG customer service and video enforcement image review, and directs all media and marketing efforts. She has implemented systems to promote safety and help the driving public stay informed.

  • Diana Ensign

    As Director of Human Resources, Diana Ensign is responsible for implementing strategies for acquiring, developing and retaining a high performing and motivated workforce. She oversees compensation and benefits, employee development, health/wellness and employee relations. Diana has nearly 30 years’ experience with the KTA and holds a degree in Human Resources Management from Wichita State University and a Professional in Human Resources (PHR) certification. She is also a member of the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) on both the local and national levels.

  • David E. Jacobson

    Director of Engineering, David Jacobson leads engineering staff to address the Turnpike's existing and future infrastructure needs in a strategic manner while considering safety, budgetary needs and customer service. He is a licensed Professional Engineer in the state of Kansas and has served the KTA since 1994.

  • Brandon Kauffman

    Brandon Kauffman is KTA’s Director of Finance. He guides the long-range and daily financial activities of the organization. Brandon holds a B.S. in Political Science from Kansas State University and a Master of Public Administration from Wichita State University. He has nearly two decades of experience serving local government at the city and county level, and has previously served as the Director of Finance for both the cities of Topeka, KS and Lincoln, NE.

  • Bruce Meisch

    Bruce Meisch serves as the Director of Technology. Bruce is responsible for technical leadership to support the achievement of KTA’s mission and goals. He oversees toll collection systems, data and fiber networks, software applications and telecommunications.  He has over 30 years’ experience in technology with the KTA, and has degrees in both mathematics and computer science from Wichita State University.

  • Melody Hawkins

    Melody Hawkins serves as the Turnpike's Executive Assistant managing office systems to maintain an efficient workplace and assists in the overall execution of company policies and procedures. She joined KTA in 2016 with more than a decade of prior business operations experience in the technology industry.

  • Alan Streit

    Alan Streit serves as the KTA General Counsel.  He provides legal research, advice and representation to KTA board and executive staff on a wide variety of legal issues affecting KTA.  Alan received a Bachelor of Science from Kansas State University and a Juris Doctor from the University of Kansas. He previously litigated transportation and other cases throughout the Kansas District Court system and argued several cases to the Kansas Court of Appeals and Kansas Supreme Court.

  • Capt. John Lehnherr

    Capt. John Lehnherr is the Commander of the Kansas Highway Patrol’s Troop G, which is assigned to the Turnpike. He also works closely with KTA’s Incident Management Center that keeps patrol and maintenance staff and customers connected. Capt. Lehnherr previously served as a Lieutenant and has over 20 years of experience with the Kansas Highway Patrol, and many years with the Turnpike, before being promoted to Captain in December 2019. He holds a degree in Strategic Leadership from Southwestern College.

eNewsletter Signup

Enter your info below.

Thanks. Please confirm.

Thank you for signing up for our eNewsletter. An email has been sent to you to confirm your subscription. Please go there and click the link in that email to confirm your subscription.

Subscription confirmed.

Thank you for signing up for our eNewsletter.

Continue to our Website